Tour of Flanders women: victory for Longo Borghini


Splendid success in front of Niewadoma

Italian triumph at Flanders. Elisa Longo Borghini won the 21st edition of the women's Ronde Van Vlaanderen, with start and finish in Oudenaarde of 163 km.

The race is decided on the last pass of the Paterberg, 15 km from the finish. In pouring rain, Shirin Van Anrooij, who had attacked before the Kwaremont, was joined by Longo Borghini and Katarzyna Niewiadoma while Lotte Kopecky, Demi Vollering and Marianne Vos were unable to keep up with the pace of the two Lidl Treks and the Pole.

The three thus play for success in the sprint: Longo Borghini overtakes Niewadoma and Van Anrooij and wins his second career Flanders.

Photo Sprint Cycling

Arrival order:

1 LONGO BORGHINI Elisa Lidl - Trek -

2 NIEWIADOMA Katarzyna Canyon//SRAM Racing -

3 VAN ANROOIJ Shirin Lidl - Trek -

4 VOS Marianne Team Visma | Lease a Bike -

5 KOPECKY Lotte Team SD Worx - Protime -

6 PIETERSE Puck Fenix-Deceuninck -

7 PERSICO Silvia UAE Team ADQ -

8 VOLLETING Demi Team SD Worx - Protime -

9 PATERNOSTER Letizia Liv AlUla Jayco -

10 SWINKELS Karlijn UAE Team ADQ -