Giro d'Italia, Alaphilippe wins the twelfth stage


First victory for the Frenchman in the pink race

Julian Alaphilippe wins the twelfth stage of the Giro d'Italia from Martinsicuro to Fano , 193 km. A stage characterized by attacks, with the pink jersey group controlling the race without particular apprehension.

Among the attackers, Julian Alaphilippe (Soudal Quick Step) and Mirco Maestri (Team Polti Kometa) manage to take advantage. The two take a lead of about a minute over another small group of riders made up of Jonathan Narvaez, Quinten Hermans, Christian Scaroni, Benjamin Thomas, Michael Valgren, Dion Smith, Simon Clarke, Gijs Leemreize and Matteo Trentin.  

17 km from the end, taking advantage of a windy stretch of road, Antonio Tiberi 's Team Bahrain Victorious tries to break the pink jersey group , in an attempt to gain seconds on Geraint Thomas and Daniel Martinez , but the two contenders for the final podium do not make it to surprise.

On the climb of Monte Giove Alaphilippe breaks away from Maestri and remains alone in the lead; behind him Narvaez and Hermans take advantage, trying to chase the former world champion, but without success.

Alaphilippe reaches the finish line in Fano alone, while in the sprint Narvaez takes second position ahead of Hermans; Valgren and Scaroni arrive immediately afterwards.

All unchanged in the general classification with Tadej Pogacar remaining in the pink jersey with 2'40" on Martinez and 2'56" on Geraint Thomas.


1 ALAPHILIPPE Julian Soudal Quick-Step

2 NARVÁEZ Jhonatan INEOS Grenadiers

3 HERMANS Quinten Alpecin - Deceuninck

4 VALGREN Michael EF Education - EasyPost

5 SCARONI Christian Astana Qazaqstan Team

6 TRENTIN Matteo Tudor Pro Cycling Team

7 CLARKE Simon Israel - Premier Tech

8 LEEMREIZE Gijs Team dsm-firmenich PostNL

9 MASTERS Mirco Team Polti Kometa

10 THOMAS Benjamin Cofidis


1 POGAČAR Tadej UAE Team Emirates

2 MARTÍNEZ Daniel Felipe BORA - hansgrohe 2.40

3 THOMAS Geraint INEOS Grenadiers 2:56

4 O'CONNOR Well Decathlon AG2R The World Team 3:39

5 TIBERI Antonio Bahrain - Victorious 4:27

6 BARDET Romain Team dsm-firmenich PostNL 4:57

7 LUCKY Lorenzo Astana Qazaqstan Team 5:19

8 ZANA Filippo Team Jayco AlUla 5:23

9 RUBIO Einer Movistar Team 5:28

10 ARENSMAN Thymen INEOS Grenadiers 5:52

Photo: Sprint Cycling Agency