Giro d'Italia, Pelayo Sanchez wins the sixth stage


Alaphilippe beaten in the sprint, Piccolo first of the Italians

He wins the sixth stage of the Giro d'Italia from Torre del lago Puccini to Rapolano Terme of 180 km. A very hard-fought stage in which the riders try to break away from kilometer zero; the first to shoot is Andrea Piccolo. Then, after the Volterra climb, a seven-man group made up of Julian Alaphilippe, Pelayo Sanchez, Luke Plapp, Kaden Groves, Filippo Fiorelli, Matteo Trentin and Andrea Vendrame takes the lead.

The escapees manage to have up to three minutes of advantage over the pink jersey group, but from the start of the dirt sections, 45 km from the end, the group closes the gap to less than two minutes, while only three remain in front: Alaphilippe , Sanchez and Plapp.  

With 10 km to go the escapees have a minute's lead on the group, while with 3 km to go the gap is just twenty seconds.  

Despite the group's comeback, the three in front fought for the sprint and in the end Pelayo Sanchez beat Alaphilippe by a very narrow margin in the sprint; third place for Luke Plapp and fourth place for Piccolo.

Tadej Pogacar remains in the pink jersey, while Damiano Caruso suffered a bad fall.


1 SÁNCHEZ Pelayo Movistar Team

2 ALAPHILIPPE Julian Soudal Quick-Step

3 PLAPP Luke Team Jayco AlUla 0:01

4 LITTLE Andrea EF Education - EasyPost 0:24

5 NARVÁEZ Jhonatan INEOS Grenadiers 0:29

6 MEZGEC Luka Team Jayco AlUla ,,

7 HERMANS Quinten Alpecin - Deceuninck ,,

8 SCHULTZ Nick Israel - Premier Tech ,,

9 MARTÍNEZ Daniel Felipe BORA - hansgrohe ,,

10 LUTSENKO Alexey Astana Qazaqstan Team,,


1 POGAČAR Tadej UAE Team Emirates

2 THOMAS Geraint INEOS Grenadiers 0:46

3 MARTÍNEZ Daniel Felipe BORA - hansgrohe 0:47

4 UIJTDEBROEKS Cian Team Visma | Lease a Bike 0:55

5 RUBIO Einer Movistar Team 0:56

6 LUCKY Lorenzo Astana Qazaqstan Team 1:07

7 LÓPEZ Juan Pedro Lidl - Trek 1:11

8 HIRT Jan Soudal Quick-Step 1:13

9 LUTSENKO Alexey Astana Qazaqstan Team 1:26

10 CHAVES Esteban EF Education - EasyPost ,,

Photo: Sprint Cycling Agency