Giro d'Italia: Vendrame wins in Sappada


Success after a long breakaway on Sanchez and Steinhauser

Andrea Vendrame won the nineteenth stage of the Giro d'Italia, from Mortegliano to Sappada, of 157 km.

The good breakaway starts immediately after the start with around twenty riders who take a big advantage over a pink jersey group that lets things go. None of them have ranking ambitions but the names are interesting: among them Julian Alaphilippe, Jhonathan Narvaez, Georg Steinhauser, Pelayo Sanchez, Luke Plapp, Quinten Hermans and Vendrame.

And it is precisely the Italian of the Decathlon Ag2R who takes the advantage before the climb to Cima Sappada, the last GPM of the day. Vendrame gains more than a minute and is never caught again. Behind him, at the finish line, are Sanchez and Steinhauser, already stage winners in the 2024 Giro.

All was quiet in the top group, apart from a crash by Geraint Thomas at the end. However, the Welshman arrives together with Tadej Pogacar, and his direct opponents for the final podium, over 16 minutes behind the winner of the day.

Tomorrow the penultimate stage with arrival in Bassano and the double climb of Monte Grappa.

Photo Sprint Cycling

Arrival order:

1 VENDRAME Andrea Decathlon AG2R The World Team 3:51:05

2 SÁNCHEZ Pelayo Movistar Team 0:54

3 STEINHAUSER Georg EF Education - EasyPost 1:07

4 NARVÁEZ Jhonatan INEOS Grenadiers 2:27

5 PLAPP Luke Team Jayco AlUla,,

6 VELASCO Simone Astana Qazaqstan Team 2:30

7 TRATNIK Jan Team Visma | Lease a Bike,,

8 VALGREN Michael EF Education - EasyPost ,,

9 ALAPHILIPPE Julian Soudal Quick-Step 2:32

10 HERMANS Quinten Alpecin - Deceuninck 3:52

General ranking:

1 POGAČAR Tadej UAE Team Emirates 71:24:03

2 MARTÍNEZ Daniel Felipe BORA - hansgrohe 7:42

3 THOMAS Geraint INEOS Grenadiers 8:04

4 O'CONNOR Ben Decathlon AG2R The World Team 9:47

5 TIBERI Antonio Bahrain - Victorious 10:29

6 ARENSMAN Thymen INEOS Grenadiers 11.10

7 BARDET Romain Team dsm-firmenich PostNL 12.42

8 RUBIO One Movistar Team 1.33pm

9 ZANA Filippo Team Jayco AlUla 13:52

10 HIRT Jan Soudal Quick-Step 2.44pm