Vuelta a San Juan: Welsford's winning encore


Third Nizzolo, the race for Miguel Angel Lopez

Sam Welsford (Team Dsm) won the seventh and final stage of the Vuelta a San Juan, a 112km circuit around the Argentine city. To Miguel Angel Lopez the final success of the first Pro Series race of the year.

In the final sprint the Australian rider, who had already won yesterday's stage, preceded Fabio Jakobsen (Soudal Quick Step) and Giacomo Nizzolo (Israel).

Nothing to do for Remco Evenepoel and Quinn Simmons : the two attacked just over 10 km from the finish but were caught up to -3.5 km from the finish.

In the final standings Miguel Angel Lopez is on the top step of the podium ahead of Filippo Ganna and Sergio Higuita .

Order of arrival:

1 WELSFORD Sam Team DSM 2:23:41

2 JAKOBSEN Fabio Soudal - Quick Step ,,

3 NIZZOLO Giacomo Israel - Premier Tech ,,

4 GIDICH Yevgeniy Astana Qazaqstan Team ,,

5 VAN POPPEL Danny BORA - hansgrohe ,,

6 VIVIANI Attilio Team Corratec ,,

7 LONARDI Giovanni EOLO-Kometa ,,

8 SAGAN Peter TotalEnergies ,,

9 ABERASTURI Jon Trek - Segafredo ,,

10 ZANONCELLO Enrico Green Project-Bardiani CSF-Faizanè ,,

General and final standings :

1 LÓPEZ Miguel Ángel Team Medellin - EPM 25:40:57

2 GANNA Philip INEOS Grenadiers at 0:30

3 HIGUITA Sergio BORA - hansgrohe 0:44

4 RUBIO Einer Augusto Movistar Team 0:50

5 RIVERA Brandon Smith INEOS Grenadiers 1:01

6 PAREDES César Nicolás Sindicato de Empleados Públicos of San Juan 1:19

7 EVENEPOEL Remco Soudal - Quick Step ,,

8 VERMAERKE Kevin Team DSM 1:30

9 RICCITELLO Matthew Israel - Premier Tech 1:41

10 SIMMONS Quinn Trek - Segafredo 1:46