Dwars door Vlaanderen, Laporte wins again


The Frenchman arrives alone and hits the double after the victory at Gent-Wevelgem

Christophe Laporte wins Dwars door Vlaanderen 2023 . Great action in the final for the Frenchman who just a few days after the victory at Gent-Wevelgem hits a sensational brace.

The race is characterized by the attack of Alexander Kristoff (Team Uno-X), Oier Lazkano (Team Movistar) and Leon Heinschke (Team Dsm) who put the favorites in difficulty.  

Less than thirty kilometers from the conclusion Kristoff and Lazkano remain in the lead, with Heinschke being absorbed by the group of closest pursuers (which includes Laporte, Benoot, Kung, Madouas and Honoré ), who maintains a gap of about 30" .

Behind, at about 30”, there is another group with Alaphilippe, Trentin, De Lie, Pedersen and Wellens , with the Belgian who in the antepenultimate stretch of pavé tries to reach back on the counter-attackers, but without success. The two in the lead are caught up 5.8 km from the finish, while behind the second group is about 20” late.  

With 4 km to go, Laporte stretches alone with Kung, Madouas and Honoré who are unable to keep his wheel and the Frenchman goes on to win alone. Second place for a monumental Lazkano who resists and sprints ahead of Neilson Powless, third.  


1 LAPORTE Christophe Jumbo-Visma

2 LAZKANO Oier Movistar Team 0:15

3 POWLESS Neilson EF Education-EasyPost ,,

4 PHILIPSEN Jasper Alpecin-Deceuninck ,,

5 PEDERSEN Mads Trek - Segafredo ,,

6 DE LIE Arnaud Lotto Dstny ,,

7 DANCERS Davide Soudal - Quick Step ,,

8 PASQUALON Andrea Bahrain - Victorious ,,

9 LE GAC Olivier Groupama - FDJ ,,

10 POLITT Nils BORA - hansgrohe ,,

Photo: Sprint Cycling Agency