La Vuelta: Poels wins the 20th stage


Evenepoel second after breakaway, tomorrow the Jumbo Visma party

Wouter Poels won the 20th stage of the Vuelta de España, from Manzanares El Real to Guadarrama of 207.8 km.

Few emotions during the penultimate stage of the race. Green light for the day's breakaway with over 30 riders, including Remco Evenepoel, Poels, Marc Soler, Tiberi and Thomas. On the last mountain grand prix of the ten scheduled, all third category, action by Poels and Van Eetvelt. Soler, Pelayo Sanchez and Evenepoel remain with them. In the five-man sprint Poels starts long and manages to beat the former world champion.

The group of the best reached over ten minutes with Jonas Vingegaard and Primoz Roglic protecting Sepp Kuss . Tomorrow last stop in Madrid for the final triumph of the American and Jumbo Visma.

Photo Sprint Cycling

Order of arrival

1 POELS Wout Bahrain - Victorious 4:59:29

2 EVENEPOEL Remco Soudal - Quick Step ,,

3 SÁNCHEZ Pelayo Burgos-BH ,,

4 VAN EETVELT Lennert Lot Dstny,,

5 SOLER Marc UAE Team Emirates 0:04

6 COSTA Rui Intermarché - Circus - Wanty 0:26

7 TIBERI Antonio Bahrain - Victorious ,,

8 KÄMNA Lennard BORA - hansgrohe ,,

9 BARDET Romain Team dsm - firmenich ,,

10 RUBIO Einer Augusto Movistar Team ,,

General ranking

1 KUSS Sepp Jumbo-Visma 74:23:42

2 VINGEGAARD ​​Jonas Jumbo-Visma 0:17

3 ROGLIČ Primož Jumbo-Visma 1:08

4 AYUSO Juan UAE Team Emirates 3:44

5 LANDA Mikel Bahrain - Victorious 4:03

6 MAS Enric Movistar Team 4:14

7 VLASOV Aleksandr BORA - hansgrohe 8:19

8 UIJTDEBROEKS Cian BORA - hansgrohe 8:26

9 ALMEIDA João UAE Team Emirates 10:08

10 BUITRAGO Santiago Bahrain - Victorious 12:04