Vuelta a San Juan: Welsford beats Bennett and Jakobsen


Sixth stage for the DSM rider, Lopez remains the leader

On the day in which Egan Bernal (Ineos) was forced to retire due to knee problems, Sam Welsford (Team Dsm) won the sixth stage of the Vuelta a San Juan, with start and finish at the Vicente Chancay Velodrome after 144.9 km.

The Australian rider surprised the favorites ahead of Sam Bennett (Bora) and Fernando Gaviria (Movistar) in the final sprint. The European champion Fabio Jakobsen (Soudal Quick Step) is only fourth.

Nothing changes in the general standings, at least for the first three positions where Miguel Angel Lopez , Filippo Ganna are 30 seconds behind (fined by the UCI for irregular position during the last kilometers of yesterday's stage) and Sergio Higuita 39 seconds behind.

Tomorrow the conclusion of the Argentine race with a probable bunch sprint.

Photo Sprint Cycling

Order of arrival:

1 WELSFORD Sam Team DSM 03:03:39

2 BENNETT Sam BORA-hansgrohe

3 GAVIRIA Fernando Movistar Team

4 JAKOBSEN Fabio Soudal Quick-Step

5 VIVIANI Attilio Team Corratec

6 SAGAN Peter TotalEnergies

7 SYRITSA Gleb Astana Qazaqstan Team

8 VIVIANI Elia INEOS Grenadiers

9 ZANONCELLO Enrico Green Project-Bardiani CSF-Faizanè

10 PINAZZI Mattia Team Italy