Vuelta San Juan, Jakobsen wins the second stage


The statements of the protagonists

After Sam Bennett 's victory in the first stage, the Vuelta San Juan continues with the success of Fabio Jakobsen, still in the sprint.

The Quick Step Soudal rider precedes Fernando Gaviria , brilliant with the new Movistar jersey, and Trek Segafredo 's Jon Aberasturi .  

“Winning today makes me very happy, especially after the first stage – said Jakobsen after the stage – It was hot, but in the end I had faster legs. Beating so many top sprinters is good for morale. Now we have our victory and we hope not to stop there, because the week will bring a few more opportunities."  

No encore, however, for Sam Bennett , who has to settle for fourth place, ahead of the Argentinian of Team Corratec German Nicolás Tivani (excellent, in the presence of the best sprinters on the circuit) and Giacomo Nizzolo : “I'm a bit disappointed to be honest, especially since the guys worked very hard for me – commented Bennett – It was a high speed bunch sprint, I was running with 55×11 and I was still looking for another gear. I probably slightly missed my sprint, but I felt good at the time. It's easy to do analysis afterwards, but it's hard to do exactly the right thing in the heat of the action."  

Also noteworthy is the eighth place of Elia Viviani, immediately ahead of Peter Sagan, ninth.  

Fantacycling is also just at the beginning of the season , but the Vuelta San Juan , as well as giving points for the leagues that have decided to include the pro Series race in their calendar, can give valuable indications in view of the next World Tour appointments.


1 JAKOBSEN Fabio Soudal - Quick Step

2 GAVIRIA Fernando Movistar Team ,,

3 ABERASTURI Jon Trek - Segafredo ,,

4 BENNETT Sam BORA - hansgrohe ,,

5 TIVANI German Nicolás Team Corratec ,,

6 NIZZOLO Giacomo Israel - Premier Tech ,,

7 ANDRESEN Tobias LundTeam DSM ,,

8 VIVIANI Elia INEOS Grenadiers ,,

9 SAGAN Peter TotalEnergies ,,

10 MÄRKL Niklas Team DSM ,,


1 BENNETT Sam BORA - hansgrohe

2 JAKOBSEN Fabio Soudal - Quick Step ,,

3 GAVIRIA Fernando Movistar Team 0:04

4 MØRKØV Michael Soudal - Quick Step ,,

5 NIZZOLO Giacomo Israel - Premier Tech 0:06

6 ABERASTURI Jon Trek - Segafredo ,,

7 SEVILLA Oscar Team Medellin - EPM ,,

8 VIVIANI Elia INEOS Grenadiers 0:10

9 SAGAN Peter TotalEnergies ,,

10 VAN POPPEL Danny BORA - hansgrohe ,,