Giro d'Italia, Zana wins stage 18


Roglic attacks and gains on Almeida, but Thomas is still in the pink jersey

Filippo Zana wins the eighteenth stage of the Giro d'Italia from Oderzo to Val di Zoldo , 161 km. The Italian champion precedes Thibaut Pinot in the sprint; third place instead for Warren Barguil.

Stage featuring the breakaway of six riders: Thibaut Pinot (Groupama FDJ), Aurélien Paret-Peintre (AG2R Citroen), Filippo Zana (Team Jayco AlUla), Warren Barguil (Team Area Samsic), Marco Frigo and Derek Gee (Israel Premier-Tech ). The attackers have a 5' advantage over the pink jersey group with 50 km left to go.  

On the last climb, 8.5 km from the finish, Thibaut Pinot stretches and the only one capable of following him is Filippo Zana.

Among the men in the standings, however, action from Jumbo with Kuss stretching along with Roglic. Thomas holds the pink jersey, as well as Dunbar, while Almeida loses a few meters, helped by Jay Vine.

Then Roglic sprints, but Geraint Thomas doesn't let him go and follows behind him; only Kuss remains with the two of them, while Dunbar can't keep up the pace.  

In front Zana precedes Pinot in the sprint and conquers the stage, while among the men of classification Roglic and Thomas arrive together, with Almeida losing about twenty seconds.


1 ZANA Filippo Team Jayco AlUla

2 PINOT Thibaut   Groupama-FDJ "

3 BARGUIL Warren Team Arkéa Samsic 0:50

4 EGE Derek   Israel - Premier Tech 1:03"

5 PARET-PEINTRE Aurélien   AG2R Citroën Team 1:24

6 FRIDGE Marco Israel - Premier Tech "

7 ROGLIC Primozh Jumbo-Visma 1:56

8 THOMAS Geraint INEOS Grenadiers"

9 ALMEIDA João UAE Team Emirates 2:17

10 DUNBAR Eddie Team Jayco AlUla 2:32


1 THOMAS Geraint INEOS Grenadiers

2 ROGLIC Primozh Jumbo-Visma 0:29

3 ALMEIDA João UAE Team Emirates 0:39

4 DUNBAR Eddie Team Jayco AlUla 3:39

5 CARUSO Damian Bahrain - Victorious 3:51

6 KÄMNA Lennard BORA - hansgrohe 4:27

7 PINOT Thibaut Groupama - FDJ 4:43

8 LEKNESSUND Andreas DSM team 4:47

9 ARENSMAN Thymen INEOS Grenadiers 4:53

10 DE PLUS Laurens INEOS Grenadiers 5:52

Photo: Sprint Cycling Agency